John B Hedges

composer & musician

Night Scenes (1997)

for violin and viola

Duration: 11'30''

Program Notes:

Night Scenes is a set of five duets for violin and viola. Each piece depicts a contrasting image of life around midnight. The first is a solitary Musing. Urban Festival is reminiscent of a city block party complete with dance music and drunk college kids. The third piece, Cat Play, is a homage to nocturnal feline activities. The last two are Motherless Child, a lament based on a famous spiritual and the phantasmagorical graveyard Bone Dance.

• To listen to a performance of this work by Ensemble Made in Canada click here.